My Invisible Film #1

Film marketing is hard to get away from, especially if you’re a film fan. Each and every cinema-bound release is shoved in our face and down our throats long before the opening credits roll on premiere night. Basically, if it’s a mainstream film, chances are you’re going to know everything about it apart from a few of the twists (maybe) and how you actually rate it.

YouTube, TV adverts, posters, interviews, blog reviews, dedicated film websites, word-of-mouth: there are scores of avenues we have to try to avoid if we want to enjoy and truly judge a film without being forced to make up our minds before actually seeing it.

Don’t get me wrong – all of these platforms are great for determining which film you want to spend your hard-earned cash on – but their vivacity and our curiosity make for an often unsurprising experience.

I’m not going to boycott all of those wonderful HD trailers, stop reading reviews, or even crawl into a cave. But, what I have decided to do is pick a film every few months which is being released in the near future, and, before the hype starts to bubble – try my best to find out as little as possible about the film until I actually see it.

If anyone else out there likes this idea, feels the same way and would like join me – then please feel free. Let me know if you want to join my invisible film club, and please do share it around. It’s a simple and hopefully worthwhile quest, and the more the merrier.

Trailers are obviously out-of-bounds, but in order to know of a films existence, you must have heard about it from somewhere or somebody. All I know about my first invisible film is from seeing its teaser poster (a method I’ll try to continue with). And as I’m an advocate of say as I do and not the vice versa, I have included it below. If like me you know little more about the film so far, it is quite intriguing I think you’ll agree.

So, without further ado, My invisible film #1 is…

Spring Breakers

(UK general release date: Friday 5th April)

Spring Breakers

A review will follow soon after its release, so please come back and share your thoughts.

About thenumbereightytwo

I am an avid film enthusiast with a passion for creative writing. My favourite things in life are writing about; film, popular culture and current affairs; watching films and looking at penguins. One day I hope to be getting paid more than I deserve for doing all of these professionally (not the penguin part - that will still be a hobby). View all posts by thenumbereightytwo

5 responses to “My Invisible Film #1

What say you?

